Demanding the immediate release of Xu Zhiyong - calling a halt to the recent crackdown on legal professionals, lawyers and human rights advocates in China

Xu Zhiyong, a renowned legal scholar and rights activist has been detained for ‘assembling a crowd to disrupt order in a public place’ on 16th July after being put under three months of extralegal house arrest. Xu has been detained for more than 13 days, during which he was deprived the right to meet with his defense lawyer. China Human Rights Lawyers Concern Group, Hong Kong Catholic Justice and Peace Commission, Hong Kong Alliance in Support of Patriotic Democratic Movements of China, the Independent Chinese PEN Center and the New School for Democracy held a press conference on 29th July to express grave concerns over the recent crackdown on fiscal transparency movement and the new citizens movement. Dr. Teng Biao, famous human rights lawyer in China and visiting scholar at Centre for Rights and Justice of Chinese University of Hong Kong, was invited to speak at the press conference about the plight faced by human rights lawyers and human rights defenders in Mainland China.

Xu Zhiyong has been an active rights advocate for more than a decade. He has advocated for the abolition of Custody and Repatriation System in China and was one of the founders of Open Constitution Initiative, an NGO actively involved in different rights movements in China, including the new citizens movement, a movement that raises rights awareness, and the fiscal transparency movement.

Liu Weiguo, a Shandong lawyer, made several attempts to visit Xu Zhiyong at Beijing No.3 detention center, and was subsequently detained for a few hours for ‘gathering a crowd to disrupt public order’. More than ten citizens who protested outside the facility were also detained. According to Article 37 of the Criminal Procedure Law, “When a defense lawyer files a request for a meeting with a criminal suspect or defendant in custody on the basis of the lawyer’s practicing license, a certificate issued by the law firm, and a power of attorney or an official legal aid document, a jail shall arrange a meeting in a timely manner, no later than 48 hours after the request is filed.” Lawyer Liu stated that lawyers have the right to meet their clients as soon as possible. The refusal of meeting clients by police is completely in violation of law.

The detention of Xu and the efforts from government authorities to obstruct his lawyer from meeting him were two significant incidents illustrating the increasing pressure exerted by the Chinese government on human rights lawyers, legal professionals, as well as human rights advocates.

In an open letter to All China Lawyers Association, The Standing Committee of the National People's Congress, Supreme People's Procuratorate and Ministry of Public Security, a group of human rights lawyers based in Henan pointed out that there has been numerous incidents of violation of lawyers’ rights, which obstruct lawyers from carrying out their professional duties. Forms of violation include physical violence, extrajudicial detention, economic stringency, pressure on law firm and arbitrary administrative measures.

Since March 2013, more than 40 citizens were arrested for displaying banners and making speeches in public places. According to Article 35 of Constitution of the People’s Republic of China, citizens ‘enjoy freedom of speech, of the press, of assembly, of association, of procession and of demonstration’. The unlawful arrests blatantly violates the Constitution and Article 19 and 20 of the International Bill of Human Rights.

The criminal detention of legal scholar Xu Zhirong not only ignites the anger of Chinese citizens, it also arouses the concern from Hong Kong, Taiwan and the international community. Since Xu’s detention on 16th July, the government of United States, Germany and various civil society organizations in Taiwan have called for the release of Xu and fiscal transparency movement advocates.

 

In light of the increasing violation of rights of human rights lawyers and rights advocates, China Human Rights Lawyers Concern Group, Hong Kong Catholic Justice and Peace Commission, Hong Kong Alliance in Support of Patriotic Democratic Movements of China, the Independent Chinese PEN Center and the New School for Democracy are going to launch a civil petition, calling on the Chinese government to:

 

1.       immediately release Xu Zhiyong and other advocates for the publicity of officials' property;

2.       guarantee the right to lawyer of all detained citizens and lawyers;

3.       fulfill, respect and protect citizens' right to freedom of speech and assembly in accordance with the Constitution;

4.       stop the persecution of human rights advocates;

5.       forbid any obstruction of lawyers to perform their duties by the authorities concerned.

 

China Human Rights Lawyers Concern Group

Hong Kong Catholic Justice and Peace Commission

Hong Kong Alliance in Support of Patriotic Democratic Movements of China

Independent Chinese PEN Center

New School for Democracy

29th July 2013

Top

「要求中國政府立即釋放許志永 – 立即停止鎮壓法律專業人士、律師和人權倡導者」記者會

著名的法律學者許志永被非法軟禁在家三個月後,於2013年7月16日因“聚眾擾亂公共場所秩序”被刑事拘留,迄今已被非法羈押13天,期間更被剝奪與辯護律師的會見權,就中國政府近日專門針對官員財產公示運動和新公民運動倡導者的連番鎮壓行動,中國維權律師關注組、香港天主教正義和平委員會、香港市民支援愛國民主運動聯合會、獨立中文筆會及華人民主書院將於7月29日舉行記者會,並邀得香港中文大學人權與公義研究中心訪問學者及著名維權律師滕彪講述現時內地維權律師及人權捍衛者面對的困境。

許志永博士參與權利倡導運動超過十年。他曾推動廢除收容遣送制度,亦是「公盟」創辦人之一。「公盟」曾積極推動中國的各種維權運動,包括財產公示運動及提高權利意識的新公民運動。

山東律師劉衛國曾幾次試圖於北京第三看守所會見許志永,隨後被當地公安以「聚眾擾亂公共秩序」拘留數小時。到場聲援的十多名公民亦因此而被公安拘留。根據刑事訴訟法第37條規定,「辯護律師可以同在押的犯罪嫌疑人、被告人會見和通信。其他辯護人經人民法院、人民檢察院許可,也可以同在押的犯罪嫌疑人、被告人會見和通信。辯護律師持律師執業證書、律師事務所證明和委託書或者法律援助公函要求會見在押的犯罪嫌疑人、被告人的,看守所應當及時安排會見,至遲不得超過四十八小時。」根據有關規定,劉衛國指出律師絶對合法合理有權,盡快會見當事人,公安阻止嫌疑人依法會見代表辯護律師是完全違法的行為。

許志永被刑事拘留以致政府部門阻撓會見代表律師,正好說明中國政府未有信守承諾,依法治國,更刻意對維權律師、法律專業人士及人權倡導者施加越來越大的壓力。

較早時,一批河南律師致中共全國人大常委會、最高檢察院、公安部和全國律師協會的公開信中指出,中國有數之不盡違反律師執業權的事件,阻撓律師履行他們的專業職責,形式包括身體暴力,法外拘留,經濟緊縮,對律師事務所施加壓力和其他任意的行政措施等。

自2013年3月以來,超過40名公民因在公共場所展示橫額及發言被逮捕。根據中華人民共和國憲法第35條規定,公民享有言論自由、新聞自由、集會、結社、遊行及示威權利。公安的非法逮捕明顯是違犯憲法及牴觸《人權公約》第十九條及第二十條的人權標準。

許志永被刑事拘留不僅引起了中國本土公民的憤怒,且引起海陝两岸及國際社會廣泛關注。自許志永7月16日被拘留後,美國、德國及台灣等多個民間團體已先後發出聲明要求釋放許志永及其他參與財產公示運動的公民。

 

就近日對維權律師及人權捍衛者漸趨嚴重的打壓,中國維權律師關注組、香港天主教正義和平委員會、香港市民支援愛國民主運動聯合會、獨立中文筆會及華人民主書院將發起民間聯署,呼籲中國政府:

 

1.          立即釋放許志永和其他參與官員財產公示運動的倡導者;

2.          確保所有被拘柙的公民及律師都依法獲得會見辯護律師的權利

3.          依據憲法賦予的權利,履行、尊重和保護公民的言論和結社自由權利;

4.          停止迫害人權倡導者。

5.          有關當局停止任何阻撓律師履行其專業職責的行為

 

 

中國維權律師關注組

香港天主教正義和平委員會

香港市民支援愛國民主運動聯合會

獨立中文筆會

華人民主書院

 

2013年7月29日